End of Year Reflection: Never Stop Learning

“Anyone who stops learning is old, whether at twenty or eighty. Anyone who keeps learning stays young.” – Henry Ford

As 2016 comes to close, I learned an important lesson about learning. This lesson came from my late grandfather who always put the value of learning.  As long as I can remember, I would see books related from math to science whenever I visited my grandparents’ house. It felt like walking into a mini library when I came into the study room. When I got older, I still valued learning, but not just traditional way. 

In my previous posts: The Benefits of Learning Outside Your Field and the Importance Knowing Yourself, I have ready discussed the importance of learning outside of your field and self-awareness. However,doing these things comes down to a desire for learning about yourself and willing to be flexible on trying new things.

This year, I created this blog, which is a big step for me in trying new things. I always wanted to blog, but I simply kept putting it off. The main reason I started blogging was that I wanted to get my voice out and educate others about deaf issues and advocacy. However, learning how to blog was a big task !  am still learning how to manage a blog and learn new additional skills. I plan to continue on improving my blogging skills and explore many topics to learn outside of blogging into the new year.

The truth is, we never stop learning, even after we leave the school doors.  Even outside of blogging, I still learn about many things from the latest software to social media management. While at the same time, it is challenging and scary. Learning new things can be frustrating, but it can be worth it for the long haul.

I do like to thank people for all the lovely comments that I received from my blog posts. I am eternally thankful for people who give advice and encouraging comments. My goal is that Empower The Talent will continue to reach and educate others about many issues, including deaf issues. 

Questions for readers:

  •  In 2017, what are your plans to enhance or learn new skills in relation to your career?
  • What new skills did you learn this year?

8 thoughts on “End of Year Reflection: Never Stop Learning

  1. I enjoy learning and I have done so by reading books and connecting with others whether for just a moment or more long term. People have so much to offer; their wisdom, life experience, skills.

    The more you learn, the more you improve on your knowledge base and your people skills.

    2017 – grow my blog and acquire more followers and readers.
    Enhance on my management and leadership skills.

    In 2016 I exercised my leadership skills both in work and church ministry. I leaned on my decision making skills. I sat on interview panel and played an active role in selecting candidates for the posts.

    Like

  2. I love learning new things. It adds zest to your life. I tackled blogging and learning social media several years ago and it was a life changing experience. What started as somewhat of a lark turned into a business. You never know what the future holds when you keep learning.

    Like

  3. If there was ever a post I agreed with, this must be it.
    If I go through a day without learning something, to me that day wasted in my life.
    I strive to study, and learn something every single free time I get. Some of it is in my field, others simply to learn something new.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

